The Stella Prize

by nike, February 25, 2013
Young Woman Writing, Pierre Bonnard, 1908.

Young Woman Writing, Pierre Bonnard, 1908.

The Stella Prize came into place partly as a result of the debates that erupted in the Australian literary landscape after a series of literary award shortlists had few, or no, women on them. The ensuing debates about the visibility and worth of women’s contribution to literature, gender bias in publishing, reading and reviewing, and ways in which equality of representation could be held in balance with a focus on the quality of contemporary literature were widespread, and fascinating.

The Stella Prize is an Australian literary prize, for women. It will award a $50,000 prize to the literary work of an Australian writer, as well as promoting and supporting the work of a wider range of Australian women writers through its activities throughout the year, and its longlist and shortlist promotions.

The longlist has just been announced, with the shortlist to come on March 20.

Longlisted works

  • Floundering by Romy Ash
  • ‘Mazin Grace by Dylan Coleman
  • The Burial by Courtney Collins
  • The People Smuggler by Robin de Crespigny
  • Questions of Travel by Michelle de Kretser
  • Sufficient Grace by Amy Espeseth
  • The Sunlit Zone by Lisa Jacobson
  • Like a House on Fire by Cate Kennedy
  • Sea Hearts by Margo Lanagan
  • The Mind of a Thief by Patti Miller
  • An Opening by Stephanie Radok
  • Mateship with Birds by Carrie Tiffany

More information …

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Subscribe now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to perilous adventures and receive notifications of new posts by email.