2015 James Tiptree, Jr Award

by nike, March 16, 2015

TiptreeSo, some amazingly wondrous news. I’ve been invited to join the jury for the 2016 James Tiptree, Jr. Award.

I would like to ask you to help me and my fellow jurors find the BEST works for the award this year. You can do this by clicking on the link below and submitting any recommendations you can think of. The more the merrier!

The award is an annual literary prize for science fiction or fantasy that expands or explores our understanding of gender. Pat Murphy and Karen Joy Fowler created the award in 1991.

As stated on the website:

The aim of the award is not to look for work that falls into some narrow definition of political correctness, but rather to seek out work that is thought-provoking, imaginative, and perhaps even infuriating. The Tiptree Award is intended to reward those women and men who are bold enough to contemplate shifts and changes in gender roles, a fundamental aspect of any society.

I was lucky enough to share the honour list with some amazing writers last year: Aliette de Bodard, Eleanor Arnason, Nicola Griffith, Alaya Dawn Johnson, Ann Leckie, Bennet Madison, Sarah McCarry, Janelle Monae, Helen Wecker and S M Wheeler. Please help us find an equally astonishing group of writers to recognise and reward this year.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Subscribe now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to perilous adventures and receive notifications of new posts by email.